PDA

View Full Version : Idea for a new interface...

Ghost|BTFH
June 2nd, 2011, 10:17 PM
I've been wondering where to post this and someone suggested the Cafe for it, so here I am.

First, let me say I have no programming experience or amazing skills other than the fact I've been using Linux for ages and I'm a computer repair tech by trade.

With that in mind, I've had this idea that just won't let go of me so I have decided to share it with the community in hopes some brilliant programmer(s) will see it, love it and run with it.

Let me make this clear - I want you to take this idea and do whatever you want with it. If it's a great idea, fine - consider it my tiny contribution to the community. If it's not great, well...maybe the community can shape it into something amazing.

The bottom line is, the direction of desktops currently in Linux is taking a rather depressing turn and I'm hoping to breathe a little new life into it with an idea that (I hope) is fresh and exciting...so, here it goes:

A hive-style tile set of icons covering the desktop (or in part).

Each tile has six sides...when depressed, the tile explodes (raises up), enlarges and then displays six more tiles around it, with more options.

For example, you have a tile marked "Office" and you depress it.

Now "Office" is enlarged as the primary focus on the screen and six more tiles surround it, "Calc" "Impress" "Draw" "Math" "Writer" and "Dictionary"

Any of which may now be touched (clicked) to bring up said program.