PDA

View Full Version : Linux certification ?!?

nos09
June 2nd, 2011, 12:43 PM
I was wondering how would i get linux certificates ?! i know about the Redhat's RHCE(redhat certified engineer) exam that gives you a certificate.

i was a commerce student and now i want to change my career in IT field and thinking about getting admission in post-graduate programe in IT fields in canada. but they all require grade 12 maths !! and as i was a commerce student i didnt had one. so I think getting a Linux certificate would really help me to get admission in those collages.. ?!? and besides learning is great in itself too ! lol

is there any other popular 'Linux' certificates that can help me to make a good living and even i helps to learn more out of them ?!

Mark Phelps
June 2nd, 2011, 02:34 PM
Need to learn how to use Google ...

http://www.gocertify.com/faq/linuxfaq.shtml

nos09
June 3rd, 2011, 05:16 AM
Need to learn how to use Google ...

http://www.gocertify.com/faq/linuxfaq.shtml

Thanks Mark.

mattgyver83
June 3rd, 2011, 10:27 PM
FYI, the CompTIA Linux+ gets you 3 different certificates as its recognized by two different vendors. 2 tests, about 160$ each

CompTIA Linux+ (lifetime, for what its worth)
LPIC -1 (Linux Professional Institute, 5 years)
Novell CLA (Certified Linux Administrator, no expiry on mine so i guess life)

That's what I did, best of luck.

nos09
June 4th, 2011, 09:49 AM
FYI, the CompTIA Linux+ gets you 3 different certificates as its recognized by two different vendors. 2 tests, about 160$ each

CompTIA Linux+ (lifetime, for what its worth)
LPIC -1 (Linux Professional Institute, 5 years)
Novell CLA (Certified Linux Administrator, no expiry on mine so i guess life)

That's what I did, best of luck.

that sounds good ... and I dont think that i can get any class here as they are all dumb in this part of the world !! so is it possible to prepare it on my own ?!?! or its hard enough to consider class anyway ?