PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How to install two OS (Ubuntu + Win XPPro) on a "blank PC" ?

SenseMaker2011
June 1st, 2011, 07:51 PM
Hi, Folks !

... I am very new in the world of Linux but love it. After I used Microsoft since 1993 on my own computers, it was time to swap.

Couple of weeks ago, I did a 1st test and installed on a 4th computer (without any OS) Ubuntu first time ever. I used Ubuntu 9 installation disc and then upgrated to the latest Ubungu version via Internet. So great... it was very easy going. Unluckily I am not able to start my audio editing software (Adobe Audition) with Wine.

2 weeks ago the internal HD 80 GB ATA (NTFS formatted) in my 2nd computer (WinXP Pro, SP2) crashed. This Seagate HD was 6.5 years old and I suppose it become a pensionist. Meanwhile I bought a new HD for that mainboard (bigger size: 250 GB)..

The target: I like to reinstall this computer again with Windows XP Pro (so I can use my audio edition software), and same time I like to have parallel available Ubuntu.

I will not use the new HD for any data storage. Herefore I have a network with a RAID (NAS of 2 TB) and external HDs connected via USB.

The idea of the architecture on the computer might be: Formatting the 250 GB into 3 partitions...

1st partition of 100 GB size: bootable with Win XP Pro
2nd partition of 100 GB size: bootable with Ubuntu
3rd partition of 50 GB size: just using as an interims storage disc

Here my questions:

1.) Is there a specific software, which I have to install first, so when I boot the computer later, I can decide which OS I like to start ? If yes, it should be a freeware tool... (pls no tipps for a tool like Partition Magic at prize of 50-60 EUR)

2.) How do I have to format (partition type) the new HD ? - Again for WinXP as C: and for Ubuntu the NTFS as D: ? - And what is the best partition type for E: (with the small 50 GB) as pure data storage ?