PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't boot from CD

eeonz
June 1st, 2011, 06:39 PM
Sorry for the long thread guys - i'm a total IT novice, but thanks in anticipation!

I've got a horrible virus on my windows Vista laptop and need to reformat and start over again. Seems as good a time as any to swap over to ubuntu linux.

I downloaded ubuntu linux version 11.04 32bit from here:

http://www.ubuntu.com/download/ubuntu/download

And followed the directions to put it on to a CD-RW (700MB - 80 min, 1x 4x compatible if thats important?) following the directions on the above link and using infra recorder.

I start my laptop up (a maxdata eco 4511 IW) with the CD in and windows loads as normal.

So.... instead i press "F12" during start up. I get a screen with "Boot Menu" and the option to "Enter Setup"

I go to enter setup, then "Boot" There's "LAN BOOT" (Enabled)" and "Boot options"

Boot options reads:

1: USB CDROM
2: IDE CD: HL DT ST DVD RAM GSA T20n
3: IDE HDD TOSHIBA MK1637GSX
4: USB HDD
5: PCI BEV: Realtek Boot agent
6: USB FDC
7: USB Key

Excluded from boot order:

PCI SCI
Other USB
PCI:

Looks like CD rom is at the top right? Still won't boot from CD, even after restarting. Also, won't boot an XP installation disk either.

I know there are other options - boot from flash drive etc, but i thought this would be the easiest! Any ideas please folks? Have i missed something obvious?

Thanks!
Ian

binkles
June 1st, 2011, 07:10 PM
How did you burn the ISO image of ubuntu to the CD?

eeonz
June 1st, 2011, 09:11 PM
I used the "infra recorder" suggested in the download guide.

Actions -> Burn image -> open -> ok Pretty much followed it word for word.

However, when i tried the XP disk, I manged to get to the "press any key to boot from CD" screen, but I get the message "cannot complete installation - cannot find HDD". I'm really just using the XP disk to trouble shoot my problems with the linux installation. It's linux that I want!