PDA

View Full Version : Why the Linux hate?

frotzed
June 1st, 2011, 03:11 AM
I've recently begun a new career in IT and I've noticed a general disdain for Linux both as a Server OS and a Desktop OS. Now, maybe it's because I'm new to this field and haven't met a whole lot of other IT folks yet, but I wonder why this view of Linux being hard to use and unstable exists?

Admittedly, I only have experience with Linux on the desktop, so is Linux as a server OS really _that_ much harder to use than Windows Server?

TLDR; does anyone else experience Linux hate in the IT workspace? If so, what is your method of handling it as a Linux fan?

Thewhistlingwind
June 1st, 2011, 03:25 AM
It doesn't look like windows?

Don't laugh, today I talked to someone who said they hated Linux because they thought gnome-panel looked like **** (Fill in whatever your mind does.) and that they wanted it to look like windows.

I promptly recommended KDE.

Allavona
June 1st, 2011, 03:30 AM
I dunno. Apart from the fact that my work server running Linux has never crashed, I couldn't begin to imagine what the problems could be. Every other computer on the net work is WinXP/Vista/7 Professional something or other, but our IT person runs a Linux server. Result, everything works.

I have never gotten "hate," but I have heard, "what are you doing running that garbage." And I answer, "not crashing! What about you?"

Dustin2128
June 1st, 2011, 03:34 AM
Usually from idiots who want to make it sound like they know what they're talking about, and want to make it sound like they intelligently use windows instead of simply using it because it was preinstalled on their computer. They're the same kind of people who make up the script kiddie demographic, but with even less knowledge or interest in computers. Of course, I do know people who do use windows out of choice, but these aren't the bashers, they're the gamers.

Aquix
June 1st, 2011, 03:36 AM
It doesn't look like windows?