PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can some one Guide me to install Ubuntu 11.04 with Windows 7

azkraja
May 31st, 2011, 12:30 PM
Hi All,

I am new to Ubuntu, i have tested this software 6 month back Ubuntu 10.10 version, dual boot with Windows 7. I liked this OS, however for a Windows user its looks difficult initially, i know after spending some time and learning with this OS, it will be easier day by day. I want to install its 11.4 version in my another Laptop, but afraid to loose the data as i encountered this happening just a week before with my friends Machine. I have three partition in my Laptop, C has Windows 7 (70GB) than D Partition has 70 GB Space and E partition has 160 GB space, I need step by step guidelines to Install 11.04 in my Drive "E" Where i can make another Partition for Ubuntu using Windows 7 Shrink Volume utility. I need installation guide from experts to not loosing data as i do not have any other portable hard drive to take back up.
Please Guide me what will the best for me, if i have Total 80 GB (Allocated Drive) space for Ubuntu, i.e /root, / Home, Swap (I have 2GB RAM) etc , Waiting for some Expert guidelines.

baarn
May 31st, 2011, 03:16 PM
i am not an expert, but i can tell you that there are many idiot-proof tutorials out there, describing how to dualboot a computer with linux and windows.

one like this for example
http://lifehacker.com/5403100/dual+boot-windows-7-and-ubuntu-in-perfect-harmony
i doubt you will get spoon-fed here, but if you have questions or are unsure about certain things, just ask.

about partitioning:
you should actually have 2 windows partitions one is the hidden windows-boot partition (about 100MB) the other one shows as C:
so you should have 4 partitions on your drive. primary drives are either called hda or sda, second would end in b next in c etc. the number of the partition is appended, starting by 1.