PDA

View Full Version : Setting class path for j2ee

RobikShrestha
May 31st, 2011, 02:19 AM
I installed j2ee by downloading .bin file from java site
Now how do I set its class path variables?
I have netbeans which does not compile j2ee programs. After setting class path variables is there anything else I have to do to make netbeans recognize the j2ee classes?

slavik
May 31st, 2011, 05:05 AM
what now?

do you know how j2ee works? what do you use as a container?

RobikShrestha
May 31st, 2011, 12:23 PM
No I am just a beginner.
Please tell me how to setup the class path.
Please tell me if netbeans will then support j2ee.
I do not know what a container is.

ratcheer
May 31st, 2011, 12:43 PM
Here is what I have in my .bashrc:

JAVA_HOME=/usr/java/jre1.6.0_24
PATH=$JAVA_HOME/bin:$PATH
CLASSPATH=$JAVA_HOME/lib

Tim

t1497f35
May 31st, 2011, 01:58 PM
If you download the "Java EE" (http://netbeans.org/downloads/index.html) version of NetBeans - it already ships with all enterprise related stuff and no need to customize/set the classpath to do EE development, unless you're already deploying your app or are working with neither glassfish nor tomcat or some other specific case.

RobikShrestha
May 31st, 2011, 03:28 PM
Ok I used netbeans.
I used one of the sample web applications.
When I run it, it says:
/home/robik/NetBeansProjects/whatTheHell/build.xml:9: warning: 'includeantruntime' was not set, defaulting to build.sysclasspath=last; set to false for repeatable builds
Compiling 1 source file to /home/robik/NetBeansProjects/whatTheHell/build/web
compile:
compile-jsps:
Stopping Tomcat process...
Waiting for Tomcat...
Tomcat server stopped.
Starting Tomcat process...
Waiting for Tomcat...
Tomcat server started.
In-place deployment at /home/robik/NetBeansProjects/whatTheHell/build/web
deploy?config=file%3A%2Ftmp%2Fcontext2522280815635 11850.xml&path=/
http://localhost:8080/manager/deploy?config=file%3A%2Ftmp%2Fcontext2522280815635 11850.xml&path=/