PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Looking to Dual Boot XP with Ubuntu installed

royalflush5
May 30th, 2011, 10:35 PM
Hey everybody, I finally made the jump to Ubuntu when I built my PC. and I really love it so far. Obviously, some Windows programs just wont run and my virtual machine just wont cut it because I need more resources. So, i want to dual boot Ubuntu 11.04 along with Xp (obviously) and i have a couple of questions:

I have a 64 bit processor, so will Xp even work?
Natty is my primary OS and I have a second HDD that i plan to install Xp on, how would I be able to select which OS to boot at startup?
is there anything else I should know?

I am a super noob with this stuff, and any help would be greatly appreciated, I've searched around but I haven't found what I was looking for.

Thanks!

David D.
May 31st, 2011, 01:12 AM
1. XP should run on a 64-bit processor.

2. Windows tends to not recognize other OS's when installing and takes over the system. Normally one would install Windows first, then Ubuntu (which will recognize that you already have windows installed). In your case, you should remove the HHD with Natty, then install Windows XP on the remaining drive. Reinstall the Natty drive.

3. A reboot will then either take you into Natty, or into XP.

If into Natty, then run in terminal (CONT-ALT-T to open)
sudo update-grubto let grub find XP. You will then have boot options for Natty or XP when you boot.

If into XP, do a search in these forums for reinstalling grub from a live CD (your Natty install disc will work)and follow the instructions for installing grub onto the Natty HHD.

I am sure that someone will correct me if I am mistaken with something. This is a very knowledgeable and helpful group.

Welcome to Ubuntu and the forums.

oldfred
May 31st, 2011, 01:57 AM