PDA

View Full Version : newbie trouble w/ c++

eyeeeyeohyu
May 30th, 2011, 10:10 PM
So, hey, i'm an Ubuntu newbie and new to programming in general, so i wanted to get a handle on c++ programming for an upcoming class that uses it by going through the C++ edition of "how to think like a computer scientist". only problem is, whenever i try to compile a program, the computer starts throwing errors. heres a sample of the code i put in, verbatim from the book:

#include <iostream.h>
// main: generate some simple output
void main ()
{
cout << "Hello, world." << endl;
return 0
}

and heres what i get out:

hello.cpp:3: error '::main' must return 'int'
hello.cpp: in function 'int main()':
hello.cpp:5: error: 'cout' was not declared in this scope
hello.cpp:5: error: 'endl' was not declared in this scope
Compilation failed.

i must've installed 3 or 4 different environments (i have geany installed right now) and i tried it in the terminal too. I even upgraded Ubuntu versions. Please please please, tell me what I'm doing wrong.

muteXe
May 30th, 2011, 10:31 PM
Nothing to do with IDEs or versions of ubuntu.
Just address the errors your compiler's telling you about!

1. if you're returning a value then do "int main()", rather than void.
2. it does not recognise endl or cout because you have not told the compiler they belong to the std namespace. You need to write std::endl and std::cout, or declare this namespace underneath your include with the 'using' keyword.

Hope that helps chap.

dwhitney67
May 30th, 2011, 11:03 PM
@ the OP

Get yourself a new study book; the one you have is over a decade old.

Do not append the .h to the iostream header file; if your book is indicating to append the .h, then scratch it out with a pencil/pen.

As Mutexe indicated, cout and endl are part of the std namespace; thus to use these members, you have two choices: 1) use a "using namespace" directive in your code, or 2) fully qualify cout and endl with their namespace. For example: