PDA

View Full Version : Developing a Desktop Environment

jesuisbenjamin
May 30th, 2011, 02:10 PM
Hey there,

I have a question. Suppose i have some ideas on making a new Desktop Environment, and suppose that i am not that good at programming, in fact i'm a novice. That means i have ideas but no clue as to how to implement them. How can i go about making my project?

What various things do i need to consider when thinking of making a Desktop Environment? I assume i should think of its relation to the OS, to the WM and to the GUI toolkits which the program windows will come with. Am i on track?

How do i present my ideas? How to i "recruit" developers (assuming these ideas are inspiring?). How many developers will be require to produce it?

Are there any other considerations?

I realise this may be an odd question, but if i don't ask, i won't learn :)

Thanks.
Benjamin

LoneWolfJack
May 30th, 2011, 04:55 PM
It is an odd question because everyone who is able to build his/her own desktop environment would at least know where to start looking for information.

It's certainly nothing for a programming novice.

As long as you don't put some serious effort and/or money into your project yourself, nobody will volunteer to do any work for it.

If you are serious about this, learn C/C++ and then join the GNOME or KDE mailing lists and try to contribute to those projects. In about five years, you could become a pretty good C/C++ programmer and get a good understanding of how desktop environments work and how you would go about building one from scratch.

jesuisbenjamin
May 31st, 2011, 07:44 AM
Well thanks for answering.

Thewhistlingwind
May 31st, 2011, 07:49 AM
If you are serious about this, learn C/C++ and then join the GNOME or KDE mailing lists and try to contribute to those projects. In about five years, you could become a pretty good C/C++ programmer and get a good understanding of how desktop environments work and how you would go about building one from scratch.