PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for a Bachelor Thesis Project!

Aerivan
May 30th, 2011, 01:41 PM
Next spring I'm doing my Bachelor Thesis Project in Software Development and have started thinking about what I should make. I figure I have two possible choices if I want to do something that will be used and apprechiated.

I ask a company to specify something they need.
I build something for the ubuntu/linux community.

I'd really prefer the second option since I'm a huge fan of open scource and would like to contribute something to the community. But what would be the most used/apprechiated? That's where you come in!

What kind of application do you miss in linux? Is there something you think would be a great tool or convenience? Do you have an interesting idea for a game? Any thoughts are welcomed!

The main thing for me is that it should be a piece of software that many people can benefit from.

The project spans over about 16 weeks and the ideal conclusion would be to make the software available through the repositories when it's done.

I hope we can together come up with some fun and interesting ideas! ;)

jhonan
May 30th, 2011, 02:15 PM
Is this a 'Thesis' or a Dev Project?

NovaAesa
May 30th, 2011, 02:34 PM
I'm having trouble thinking of something that could be built in 16 weeks that the Ubuntu/Linux community doesn't already have.

Can you do any of these in 16 weeks? http://www.fsf.org/campaigns/priority-projects/

Aerivan
May 30th, 2011, 04:45 PM
Is this a 'Thesis' or a Dev Project?

It's a dev project. The reason why I frased it that way is because I live in Sweden and the system is a bit different. :)

ZarathustraDK
May 30th, 2011, 04:54 PM
I want:
http://unyildadakan.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/Clippy.jpg

j/k ;)

Aerivan
May 30th, 2011, 05:00 PM
I'm having trouble thinking of something that could be built in 16 weeks that the Ubuntu/Linux community doesn't already have.