PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Another partitioning problem

Horizon9
May 28th, 2011, 11:40 PM
OK, I'm a noob.. :D

Now that we got that out of the way, here's the problem and I hope someone can help me. Before posting, I read everything I could find here about partitioning in gparted (at least what I think applied to my situation). I'm pretty sure that this has an easy answer (or I hope it does).

I originally installed Ubuntu 10.10 on a USB stick to try and retrieve files from a failed NAS drive. That worked pretty well (thanks to a very smart guy who posted instructions on how to do the hex editing necessary to realign and enter a reiserfs disk) so I decided I'd jump in and play with Ubuntu.

I decided to port my USB install to an 80GB USB drive I had kicking around, but the install didn't actually take the whole disk the way I thought it would, it only took the 7.xGB from the USB drive.

I didn't notice (I know, dumb) and then I did the 11.04 upgrade to it. I'm trying to recapture the other 65GB of unused space via gparted, but I can't for the life of me figure out how to extend the original boot partition (I have no /home partition). i tried to format the unused space to ext4, but no matter what i do I can't expand that original partition (I can shrink it if that matters). Just to be clear, I booted from a live cd 10.10, and I'm running gparted on the unmounted USB drive. The boot partition should not be active.

My screen shots capability is not working correctly right now, but I'll post one if I can. I can only get a full screen shot, and this is on a 30" monitor.. I just want the active window

the /dev/sdj1 partition is on the left (7.11GiB) witha boot flag, then the Ext/Swap at 377MiB each /dev/sdj2 and 5) and then another 68,85 GiB partition, currently formatted to Ext4 on the right labeled /dev/sdj3. No other partitions. I can extend the Ext/swap, but not the boot partition.

Any help would be most appreciated.

thanks

Hedgehog1