PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] NVidia driver situation?

mistertransistor
May 28th, 2011, 11:26 AM
I'm new to Ubuntu. I've just done a fresh install of 11.04 (three times) on quite an old PC with an NVidia FX 500/600 graphics card.
Perhaps the first thing to say is that during installation it says that my hardware is not good enough to support Unity so I should choose classic Ubuntu. However, I am never presented with any choice at any point. I would guess that I am in 'classic' Ubuntu, but since those terms mean nothing to me, I don't really know.
The install works fine, but afterwards Ubuntu tells me that I should install a proprietary driver for the NVidia. I have done so using System/Administration/Additional Drivers. I have done it twice and both times it wrecked my desktop. The screen seems to show part of a much larger image but it is jumping around from part to part. Keyboard and mouse still work so I can get to the command line using ctrl-alt-F1.
The first time this happened I searched these forums and found many people with roughly similar problems. There seemed to be no clear solution though, and not even clear instructions on how to remove the driver. I tried the ones that looked promising without success. I still have not found how to do this, so a definitive answer to that question would be good because it would allow me to try the driver again without fear of having to rebuild the whole system afterwards.