PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How much space for Ubuntu partition?

blackberries
May 27th, 2011, 09:19 PM
hi,

I'm a total noob, and was wondering how much space should I partition part of my HDD for Ubuntu? I never used Linux in my life before and need an answer. got a 64-bit Ubuntu ready on CDRW to install.

I got a 200gigs of my old IDE Seagate HDD, Parition 1: 30gigs for Windows 7 and already like 25 filled up, Parition 2: rest is for backup. So, I was thinking of backup up all the files on Parition 2 to another HDD, and then delete it>create Parition 2 for Linux and Parition 3 for the rest, but how much space for 2?

my system:

AMD Athlon II X2 255 Regor 3.1GHz Socket AM3 65W
Foxconn A76ML-K
ECS NR9800GTE-512QX-F GeForce 9800 GT 512MB 256-bit DDR3
A-DATA 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
CORSAIR CMPSU-400CX 400W
200G Seagate (Master)
500GB Wester Digitital SATA

Joe of loath
May 27th, 2011, 09:49 PM
Personally I'd go for around 20 gigs for /, and as much space as you can spare for /home.

blackberries
May 27th, 2011, 09:52 PM
is / and /home supposed to be on 2 different partitions? what is /?

Old_Grey_Wolf
May 27th, 2011, 09:53 PM
I got a 200gigs of my old IDE Seagate HDD, Parition 1: 30gigs for Windows 7 and already like 25 filled up, Parition 2: rest is for backup. So, I was thinking of backup up all the files on Parition 2 to another HDD, and then delete it>create Parition 2 for Linux and Parition 3 for the rest, but how much space for 2?

If you are going to use the 500GB Western Digital SATA for the backups; then, I would divide the 200GB Seagate in two spaces 50% for Windows and 50% for Linux. If you want an additional partition for a shared data partition, I would determine what that partition size should be then give Windows 50% and Linux 50% of what is left over. Since you are doing backup, you can safely change the partition sizes later if you determine you need more for one of then or another.