PDA

View Full Version : Will the 11.04 automatic upgrade change my existing user settings?



Pipps
May 27th, 2011, 10:07 AM
I am happily running UNR 10.04.

However, the option to upgrade to 11.04 has recently become available in the Update Manager.

If I choose to follow this upgrade path, will my existing user settings such as nautilus shortcuts, wallpaper and other personalised settings be changed or reverted to default in any way?

Or will the upgrade execute, and leave everything looking and working exactly the same?

mrgs
May 27th, 2011, 05:23 PM
In theory the upgrade will give you all your present settings in the new release, but be careful here. There are lots of reports of an upgrade going wrong, so think twice.

If you really need 11.04, best is to test a live boot first.