PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Secure fileserver over Internet - novice question

Fubini
May 26th, 2011, 07:32 PM
Thanks for taking the time to read my post!

I'd like to set up a fileserver for myself and a few trusted individuals. I'm computer savvy and I use various linux servers frequently for work, but this is my first time trying to setup my own. Is it possible to have a Samba server setup so it is both secure and facing the Internet?

Two questions:

Will opening Samba ports make my default Ubuntu server particularly vulnerable to penetration? More than having an SSH server running?

Does Samba/ can Samba be configured to encrypt traffic or is it sent plainly? If so, does Windows and Mac support this secure communication?

If not, what would you suggest? I'd like to achieve something like a network drive and at a difficulty level that my parents could use this if they really wanted to. I will be storing things like financial information and tax returns, but no weapons-grade secrets.

deconstrained
May 26th, 2011, 07:44 PM
EVERY WAN-facing service you run is a vulnerability. Your server is only as secure as its weakest e-orifice. WAN-facing Samba with private information = big mistake.

I recommend setting up either VPN or SSH tunnelling, and then making all other services accessible through them. Both can be configured to be very secure and require different kinds of authentication. If you have a FreeBSD server on your local net then you can easily use its native IPSec service (which is well-documented). Otherwise I recommend OpenVPN, which can be a pain to configure and get working properly but has more versatility and security-hardening features than anything else out there you can get for free.

Edit: I forgot to mention that traffic that goes through SSH and most kinds of VPNs (including IPSec and OpenVPN) is always encrypted by default.

Fubini
May 26th, 2011, 08:05 PM
What I'm really asking is whether it's an acceptable risk.