PDA

View Full Version : Enthusiasm Waning Trying To Install Ubuntu 10.04

darren123web
May 25th, 2011, 01:45 PM
<<< Edit >>>
*** Laptop went to repair shop. Mobo was fried and needed replacing.

I'm hoping it was just a coincidence that the day before I installed Ubuntu, Windows was working okay, and after I installed Ubuntu, I started having problems....

Fingers crossed ;-)

As I said in my other post - Ubuntu has been rock solid on this PC - just my lappy that had problems.

<<< End Edit >>>
Hello All,

I hope that there is a solution to this ;-)

I'm a complete Linux newbie you might say, but I'll try to give clear information....

I thought it was about time to go for a Ubuntu install, and lose Vista on my laptop.

I thought it would be 'reasonably' straightforward as I'm okay with PC's, and Ubuntu seems about as mainstream as Linux gets (for people like me coming from Windows)

However, I'm stuck...

I have a disk with Ubuntu 10.04 LTS (trying this now, as I had similar problems with 10.10 and 11.04)

I did a clean install from CD with 10.04.
Laptop is IBM ThinkPad R61i
(I *think* I have the nvidia 140 M graphics card, but can't see anything on my screen now so not sure)
I think it's an Intel Core2Duo if I remember right, with 3 or maybe 4 Gb Ram.

Basically I have a black screen. I've followed this sticky - http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1743535, but none of the keyboard shortcuts seem to make any difference on Booting up.

I've also tried booting from CD, and trying the keyboard shortcuts in the post above - but still black screen.

Don't know if this is relevant, but at first it just wasn't shutting down, so I'd have to kill the power button.

Software I'm trying to remember what I installed before it all went wrong, apologies :

All updates prior to installing anything.
Nvidia driver of some sort was installed when I enable Visual Effects.
Cairo Dock (uninstalled that as was jumpy)
Wine (and then 1password I think)
Inkscape
Gimp
Scribus
Dropbox