PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu boot error; USB 3; /dev/disk/by-uuid/xxxx does not exist

Lycake
May 24th, 2011, 03:47 PM
Hello,
i tried to install Ubuntu 11.04 on my new USB 3.0 drive. There were no problems with the installation but when I'm trying to boot it now, I get this message:

/dev/disk/by-uuid/[long-set-of-numbers] does not exist. Dropping to shell!

I am new to this so I googled around a bit. Most people get this error because of wrong UUIDs in the grub config or fstab. I checked the UUIDs in the grub.cfg, fstab and blkid (booted from live cd). They all match.

Hope there is a genius out there who can help me with this.

Thanks

Rubi1200
May 24th, 2011, 06:01 PM
Hi and welcome to the forums :-)

I am no genius, but I know what you should do to start troubleshooting this:

Boot the Ubuntu Live CD/USB. Choose the option "Try Ubuntu without any changes." Once the desktop loads come back here and do the following:

1. Download the boot info script. There is a link in my signature.
2. Once downloaded, move the boot info script to the desktop.
3. Open a terminal and run the command

sudo bash ~/Desktop/boot_info_script*.sh

This will create a RESULTS.txt file on the desktop. Paste the entire contents of that file back here in a new post. Once pasted highlight all text and click the # sign on the toolbar to place code tags around the text.

Hedgehog1
May 25th, 2011, 05:47 AM
As a side note:

Ubuntu will not boot from a USB 3.0 port with a USB 3.0 drive in it.

If you move the external drive to a USB 2.0 port, it will boot.

Once Ubuntu is booted, it can and read and write to USB 3.0 drives fine, and you can even install Ubuntu on a USB 3.0 drive (as you have found out).

You just can't boot from it. For now...

The Hedge

:KS

Lycake
May 27th, 2011, 09:43 AM
Hi,
thank you for your answers.