PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 11.04, reasons to upgrade? Are there any?

johnmollaghan
May 24th, 2011, 10:37 AM
I have been using Ubuntu for a good while now, since 2007 roughly.

I tried out the live cd for 11.04, didn't really like the Unity interface, prefer Gnome, so sticking to 10.04 for now.

Are there any reasons to update to 11.04, presuming I would using Gnome?

Are people warming to Unity or is pretty much everyone unimpressed with it?

Thanks

cong06
May 24th, 2011, 10:52 AM
I installed from 10.04

- Firefox 4
- Banshee is more stable
- The new UI

Actually, really it's the new UI. I really liked firefox 4, and am currently also enjoying banshee, though.
I guess LibOffice might be another thing.

jamesjenner
May 24th, 2011, 10:52 AM
Well when I first upgraded I have to admit that I was shocked.

However I'm predisposed to trying new things and giving them a chance. I tried it for a weekend and did some research.

The result is that now I love it. I've been using it on an adhoc basis (say 2 hours a night) since it first came out and I find it easy to use. Understanding why they have chosen to do things helped me accept some of the changes.

Oh there are some things that annoy me, but they're only minor and considering this is a .04 release I'm not expecting a whole heap from it. This is after all the bleeding edge, if I wanted stable and predictable then I wouldn't have upgraded.