PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Kernel Panic - not syncing: Unable to mount root fs on unknown block (0,0)



yongle
May 24th, 2011, 09:37 AM
Hi Guys

I am totally new to Linux (been on Windows far too long!).
Hard drive on Toshiba Protege A100 died. So with new hard drive installed decided to go Linux Ubuntu route.(single boot).Did not expect major problem at first hurdle. How naive!
I can run Ubuntu from CD, but Kernel Panic... prevents boot via Hard Drive. I have read answers to similar question in your forum but cannot understand what to do. I am not yet familiar with commands etc, so the answers are all ahead of my level of skill at this time.
I did not partition the drive, and allowed install program to format the drive. All done automatically.
Any ideas?
:confused:

Taking detailed instruction from experienced user - I have tried a couple of things to see if settings are ok (details below).

TERMINAL sudo fdisk -l

OUTPUT
Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000d1a89

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 18986 152501248 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 18986 19458 3786753 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 18986 19458 3786752 82 Linux swap / Solaris

TERMINAL sudo blkid

OUTPUT
/dev/loop0: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/sda1: UUID="4f437723-3d14-4ae6-9cdc-f9b61f0a84d3" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sda5: UUID="99013e39-9eba-4cab-b3b4-a3592cf0b961" TYPE="swap"

TERMINAL sudo mount /dev/sda1 /mnt
cat /mnt/boot/grub/grub.cfg

OUTPUT
#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
set have_grubenv=true
load_env
fi
set default="0"
if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
save_env saved_entry
set prev_saved_entry=
save_env prev_saved_entry
set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
saved_entry="${chosen}"
save_env saved_entry
fi
}

function recordfail {
set recordfail=1
if [ -n "${have_grubenv}" ]; then if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then save_env recordfail; fi; fi
}

function load_video {
insmod vbe
insmod vga
}

insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 4f437723-3d14-4ae6-9cdc-f9b61f0a84d3
if loadfont /usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2 ; then
set gfxmode=640x480
load_video
insmod gfxterm
fi
terminal_output gfxterm
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 4f437723-3d14-4ae6-9cdc-f9b61f0a84d3
set locale_dir=($root)/boot/grub/locale
set lang=en
insmod gettext
if [ "${recordfail}" = 1 ]; then
set timeout=-1
else
set timeout=10
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
set menu_color_normal=white/black
set menu_color_highlight=black/light-gray
### END /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 2.6.35-22-generic' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
recordfail
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 4f437723-3d14-4ae6-9cdc-f9b61f0a84d3
linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.35-22-generic root=UUID=4f437723-3d14-4ae6-9cdc-f9b61f0a84d3 ro quiet splash
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.35-22-generic
}
menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 2.6.35-22-generic (recovery mode)' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
recordfail
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 4f437723-3d14-4ae6-9cdc-f9b61f0a84d3
echo 'Loading Linux 2.6.35-22-generic ...'
linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.35-22-generic root=UUID=4f437723-3d14-4ae6-9cdc-f9b61f0a84d3 ro single
echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.35-22-generic
}
### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+)" {
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 4f437723-3d14-4ae6-9cdc-f9b61f0a84d3
linux16 /boot/memtest86+.bin
}
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200)" {
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 4f437723-3d14-4ae6-9cdc-f9b61f0a84d3
linux16 /boot/memtest86+.bin console=ttyS0,115200n8
}
### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
if [ "x${timeout}" != "x-1" ]; then
if keystatus; then
if keystatus --shift; then
set timeout=-1
else
set timeout=0
fi
else
if sleep --interruptible 3 ; then
set timeout=0
fi
fi
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries. Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment. Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###

Hedgehog1
May 24th, 2011, 10:04 AM
Based on the listing you have posted, my first guess is that this system has trouble with the first partition being larger than 137 gigs.

Using the LiveCD, if you could setup a 3 parition setup

/dev/sda1 ext4 '/' (root) 30 gigs
/dev/sda2 ext4 '/home' (all space no used by sda1 & sda3)
/dev/sda3 swap size of ram + 10%

Ubuntu Only Install

If you are in a position to wipe the disk clean, please begin your Ubuntu install by using gparted and do this:

http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/9282/mbrpariondemo01.png

http://img858.imageshack.us/img858/9979/mbrpariondemo03.png

Then begin creating 3 partitions for '/' (root) '/home' & Swap:

http://img853.imageshack.us/img853/503/mbrpariondemo04.png

Make your root partition 20-30 gigs

http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/2554/mbrpariondemo05.png

Make your '/home' partition all the rest of the disk space except that you need for swap (swap = RAM size + 10%)

http://img851.imageshack.us/img851/2815/mbrpariondemo06.png

Next your swap partition:

http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/8353/mbrpariondemo07.png

Press the 'check mark' button to make the changes real:

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/5460/mbrpariondemo08.png

gparted will ask this:

http://img826.imageshack.us/img826/7826/mbrpariondemo09.png

Hedgehog1
May 24th, 2011, 10:05 AM
Then it updates your partitions:

http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/5706/mbrpariondemo10.png

You can see a list of the changes made once the work is done:

http://img862.imageshack.us/img862/7135/mbrpariondemo11.png

And a view of what the partitions look like after the update:

http://img600.imageshack.us/img600/4516/mbrpariondemo12.png

Same layout, but as seen using the Disk Utility:

http://img825.imageshack.us/img825/2018/mbrpariondemo13.png

Now when you re-install, select this method:

http://img51.imageshack.us/img51/337/mbrpariondemo15.png

If you are installing Natty/11.04, select the 'Something Else' option.

If you are installing 10.04 or 10.10, select the 'Specify Partitions Manually (Advanced)' option.

And tell the install to use the three partitions this way (You Drive is likely /dev/sda, not the /dev/sdc this screen shot was taken from):

http://img684.imageshack.us/img684/7977/mbrpariondemo16.png


The Hedge

:KS

yongle
May 24th, 2011, 11:14 AM
Based on the listing you have posted, my first guess is that this system has trouble with the first partition being larger than 137 gigs.

Using the LiveCD, if you could setup a 3 parition setup

/dev/sda1 ext4 '/' (root) 30 gigs
/dev/sda2 ext4 '/home' (all space no used by sda1 & sda3)
/dev/sda3 swap size of ram + 10%

Ubuntu Only Install

If you are in a position to wipe the disk clean, please begin your Ubuntu install by using gparted and do this:

http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/9282/mbrpariondemo01.png

http://img858.imageshack.us/img858/9979/mbrpariondemo03.png

Then begin creating 3 partitions for '/' (root) '/home' & Swap:

http://img853.imageshack.us/img853/503/mbrpariondemo04.png

Make your root partition 20-30 gigs

http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/2554/mbrpariondemo05.png

Make your '/home' partition all the rest of the disk space except that you need for swap (swap = RAM size + 10%)

http://img851.imageshack.us/img851/2815/mbrpariondemo06.png

Next your swap partition:

http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/8353/mbrpariondemo07.png

Press the 'check mark' button to make the changes real:

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/5460/mbrpariondemo08.png

gparted will ask this:

http://img826.imageshack.us/img826/7826/mbrpariondemo09.png
Thanks a lot.
Creating partitions as suggested did the trick and Linux booted up first time without a hitch.
Now I will learn how to use it!

seoserviceinet
May 24th, 2011, 11:34 AM
How I combine my portions with out complete reformatting other drive

Hedgehog1
May 25th, 2011, 04:36 AM
How I combine my portions with out complete reformatting other drive

seoserviceinet,

Welcome to the Forum.

Please create a new thread with your issue. Your post at the bottom of this thread will not be seen by very many people and you won't get the help you need.

The Hedge

:KS

Hedgehog1
May 25th, 2011, 04:38 AM
Thanks a lot.
Creating partitions as suggested did the trick and Linux booted up first time without a hitch.
Now I will learn how to use it!

Welcome to Wonderland.

I have not had this much fun with an OS since I was, well, it was MANY years ago.

The Hedge

:KS