PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Unity - some how-to questions

areeda
May 23rd, 2011, 06:21 PM
So I've been playing with Unity 3D for a few months and finally upgraded to Natty for real.

I really like Unity's use of screen real estate but I can't figure out how to do some of my basic normal functions. So this is a list of random questions, please comment on any of them.

Is there a comprehensive document on how to use Unity?
The Applications launcher is nice for finding a program the first time but gets tiresome after a while. Is there a way to get the menu added to the http://ubuntuforums.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=192984&stc=1&d=1306170437 icon? Also what is that icon called? This is Unix, remember the concept of minimum encumbrance for the experienced user.
Is there a way to move a window to another desktop when it is maximized? I can restore to normal size and right click on the title bar then remaximize but I'm hoping for a one step solution.
When a window is minimized must it disappear completely? Is alt-tab the only way to restore it?
There are some programs that I would like to open multiple windows when I click on the launcher such as terminal and Firefox. I see in /usr/share/applications a section called: [NewWindow Shortcut Group]. How do I invoke that command? It's not shift, alt or control click. Those were my guesses.

I really like the design of Unity. It's like getting a new higher resolution monitor for free. I have to learn how to use it effectively and stop trying to do things the old way. i realize that but right now it's slowing me down.

Please help me get more proficient.

Joe

sikander3786
May 23rd, 2011, 06:33 PM
Regarding Unity, this guide is the most comprehensive one found on the web I believe.

http://castrojo.tumblr.com/post/4795149014/the-power-users-guide-to-unity

For getting to the menu, you can press <Super> (Windows Logo Key) and you would see the "Dash". Or you can click the Applications icon in Launcher.