View Full Version : [SOLVED] setting up network for PS3 media server

May 23rd, 2011, 01:38 PM
Hello and thanks for looking.

I have a PS3 that I am looking to connect to my main PC to watch videos, listen to music etc. I am planning to use mediatomb as the media sever as this seems a popular choice. I just have some questions regarding how to set up the network (I've never done any network set up or admin before).

1. I will soon be downgrading my internet connection package to one with a download limit so I dont want anything being transmitted through this. I assume any info I transfer between the machines will simply go PC > router > PS3 and therfore not eat up my precious download qouta. Yes?

2. Im a little concerned regarding the security implications of allowing something to browse my HDD on the PC through the same port as my connection to the outside world (ethernet cable). Is this a genuine possible issue or my ill informed paranoia?

3. Given my belief on point 2, Im wondering if I could install a second ethernet card (or USB dongle - not sure yet) to connect to the router using a different port for a dedicated connection for mediatomb. That way I would be able to have relative safety of knowing that the permitted connection is only used by the PS3 - not the internet at large. Or... maybe it will be no different as the connection still goes through the router which is connected to the outside world and could therefore still be hijacked. I dont know - im confused.

Please excuse me if these are foolish questions but I really dont understand what I am doing.

and PS - I do see the irony in worrying about the security issue for the connection through the router when PSN got hacked like log recently. :)

Any input welcome...

May 23rd, 2011, 10:37 PM