PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 11.04 fresh install: boots into grub CLI and just sits there

Martinus2u
May 22nd, 2011, 08:39 PM
Hi,

first off I'd like to say I am quite familiar with linux and some distributions. However, in the land of Ubuntu and Grub I am to be considered a total noob.

My setup: a work laptop that has a corporate Win7 image, and to which I have added a few partitions to try various linux distributions. The MBR is governed by Lilo from the Slackware 13.37 installation in /dev/sda5. The MBR boots no kernel image directly, it only chainloads the boot sectors of partitions /dev/sda1, /dev/sda5, /dev/sda6 and /dev/sda7. The latter three are formatted ext4.

The Win7 boot mechanism traditionally resides in /dev/sda1, and the linux distros are required to install their boot machines into their respective partitions.

What I am trying to say is, I installed Ubuntu 11.04 into /dev/sda7, and told the grub installer the same thing: install yourself into the boot sector of /dev/sda7. Kudos btw for the Ubuntu installer, it comes across as a very professional piece of software.

Installation went without a problem. However, whenever I boot the /dev/sda7 installation I get stuck in a sort of grub terminal:

GNU GRUB version 1.99~rc1-13ubuntu3

Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. For the first word, TAB
lists possible commend completions. Anywhere else TAB lists possible
device or file completions.

grub> _
After the "exit" command it tries a PXE boot until it times out, and then says it could not find an OS on any partition. Yeah, right.

In this forum I found a recipe: boot into live DVD and issue

sudo mount /dev/sda7 /mnt
sudo grub-install --root-directory=/mnt /dev/sda7
However, that results in the following message:

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo grub-install --root-directory=/mnt /dev/sda7
/usr/sbin/grub-setup: warn: Attempting to install GRUB to a partitionless disk or to a partition. This is a BAD idea..