PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] X58 needs nolapic to boot 10.04 x64

TiberiusT
May 21st, 2011, 10:48 AM
Stuck!

Foxconn Bloodrage GTI i7 920 6GB RAM. BIOS at defaults. 10.04 x64 with Kernel 2.6.32-28

I've formerly run Maverick x32 wout issues, but now I've gone back to 10.04LTS bcos that's what the other PCs in the house are using very happily. Boot is on separate drive to Win7 which is on a RAID0 and has functioned perfecto at 4.00Ghz for over a year with various BIOSes. BUT 10.04 x64 will only boot with nolapic in the command line. hpet=verbose makes no difference, both attempts hang at Checking Battery State which I understand is a kind of generic place to stop for a multitude of problems. I change HDD Boot priority in BIOS manually to boot the two OS'es. nolapic boots fine but of course uses one thread only and is ... glacial.

I have tried several different BIOSes P4,6,7,9,11, G40 and G42. All at defaults.Same issue.

I have not yet tried another Ubuntu bcos I am new to Ubuntu and I want to standardize and learn one version to start with so I can improve the setups on all PCs. I have read about the X58 apic issue but hpet=verbose seems to solve it for a lot of people. Also, I've seen others suggesting to 'update the kernel' to 36 or higher. Is that a good idea? Will that break full 10.04 program compatibility with the the other PCs? What's the best way to go about this?

Tks in advance to anyone. I can of course give further details if required, but this seems to be a known issue and maybe someone just knows the best way to sort it.

T

mörgæs
May 24th, 2011, 04:59 AM
If you know that 10.10 works well, I guess the obvious solution is just using this (in a fresh install).

You will not encounter problems sharing files with 10.04, in fact there is not much difference between 10.04 and 10.10 except for a number of bug fixes.