PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Gnome 3 upgrade error

dane1986
May 21st, 2011, 08:41 AM
Hi I have been using Ubuntu for a few years now and have recently upgraded to to the lastest version 11.04. When I first upgraded I did not like Unity at all, and upgraded to gnome 3 without an issue.

I then made a the silly mistake of fiddling with Synaptic package manager and destroyed my installation. I am now trying to make a fresh install of Ubuntu 11.04 and gnome 3, however I am having no luck.

I use the following commands to add the repository and upgrade to gnome 3:

$ sudo add-apt-repository ppa:gnome3-team/gnome3

$ sudo apt-get update

$ sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

$ sudo apt-get -f install (to rectify error)

$ sudo apt-get install gnome-shell

$ sudo apt-get install gnome-tweak-tool

I have tried 4 times now, trying different methods, installing all updates before installing gnome 3 and without installing any upgrades.

After the gnome 3 upgrade I reboot and it boots back into a desktop environment which looks like a hybrid of Unity and Gnome 3, there is no option to boot into gnome-shell at the login screen.

I then open the update manager and it prompts a partial upgrade. An error occurs in the upgrade with the gnome-control-center. After the upgrade I go to Synaptic package manager and the package appears to be fine, but I reinstall it anyway.

On reboot, at the login screen, the only option is 'other'. I tried to enter my user name and password and the window fades out and it doesn't log in, I can't access recovery terminal or anything, I can only shutdown or restart.

Does anyone have an idea of what this problem may be? As I said I have tried 4 times now and am out of ideas. Thanks Dane.

mörgæs
May 21st, 2011, 03:38 PM
Hi, welcome to the fora.