PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No menus / no functions

ghostrayne
May 20th, 2011, 02:23 AM
I'm new to linux, just 3 days in now. I love it! However, twice now i've gotten myself in this prediciment. Im running Ubuntu 11.04 off of my hard drive. I whiped it clean and freshly installed. The problem that I've ran into (for the second time) is the disappearance of my menus. When editing settings in compiz manager, my top menu bar glitches out. That's fine though because I can still click where the buttons would be if i could see them. And that only lasts until I reload it or relogin. However, when I turned something off - I gotta mega glitch. The top bar completely disapeared and the quickstart menu (on the left) also dissapeaered. Ican see my wallpaper, and I can right click and have the regular menu pop up there. I tried restarting, but it just loads up the desktop. I am currently logged in with "ubuntu classic mode" - ubuntu <--- non classic mode, is the one i'm having a problem with.

The first time - I searched around, couldnt really find anything (this whole thing is like an alternate language to me atm as its only day 3), so i just reinstalled the OS again.

All was fine until an hour ago - somehow, i did it again.

I've searched again. I cannot open things with keyboard shortcuts or functions. ALT F2 does nothing. I can open up the terminal with CTRL+ALT+F1. But the commands that i've seen as answers to other peoples issues don't work. Most commonly the "gnome - " commands and the "xhost" commands just return "Unable to load display"

I figure if I could possibly reset the startup configuration that might solve the issue, but i can't find it. The directory that most people have suggested (in similar problems) is not where mine is. Could be that these issues were surfaced at a much older version of Ubuntu.