PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Xubuntu to Lubuntu clean installation without losing stored data?

lolxd657
May 20th, 2011, 12:35 AM
Hello, linux newbie here. I have been playing with Ubuntu and its variant for a few days, and I must say I like it. I had ubuntu, shifted to xubuntu, installed lxde wm on xubuntu to get lubuntu.

Now what I'm trying to do is install Lubuntu from scratch, wiping out xubuntu, while keeping my music, movies in place. Music and movies are in the directory of /home/*username*. Since the OS is kept on / will formatting the OS partition erase my medias too? Let me know if more details are needed.

Thank you for your help guys :)

jerrrys
May 20th, 2011, 01:14 AM
your files will be wiped

create a partition to put your files on

kn0w-b1nary
May 20th, 2011, 01:22 AM
I recommend always having the /home/ partition separate, for more reasons than this. Including file survival.

slooksterpsv
May 20th, 2011, 01:24 AM
When you reinstall via USB or CDROM do the advanced partitioning, select your drive, click on properties, select set format as (ext4 is default on new formats, so choose that if that's what it previously was) and make sure that FORMAT IS UNCHECKED and make it / it'll remove all previous directories except the /home/<youruser> folder

I do this often!

slooksterpsv
May 20th, 2011, 01:29 AM
Ok so its, when you get to how you want to install Ubuntu choose:
Something Else

Then Click on your drive that is already ext4, and choose Change...

Then select Use as and choose Ext4 Filesystem

Make sure Format partition is Unchecked

And Mount point is /

See screenshots attached:

lolxd657
May 21st, 2011, 11:46 PM
Ok so its, when you get to how you want to install Ubuntu choose:
Something Else

Then Click on your drive that is already ext4, and choose Change...

Then select Use as and choose Ext4 Filesystem

Make sure Format partition is Unchecked

And Mount point is /

See screenshots attached:

Ow, okay. Few questions about partitioning.