PDA

View Full Version : [kde] KDE not installed properly on ubuntu

vkbidve
May 18th, 2011, 12:09 PM
Hi, I am new to ubuntu and installeddd it on my laptop. Then I installed KDE to it and set it as default desk environ. It is running very fine!

Then I installed ubuntu 10.04 LTS on my home PC and again installed KDE on it after updating everything to today's date. I set it as default desk environ. But seems that it didn't get installed properly. After logging in, the splash screen of KDE appears. First the hard disk icon appears and then abruptly it switches to login screen again. This keeps repeating.

I tried re-installing KDE, but the problem persists.

Can anybody help?

vkbidve
May 19th, 2011, 01:27 PM
No solution on planet earth????

:confused:

SeijiSensei
May 19th, 2011, 02:36 PM
If you want a KDE desktop, you're much better off installing Kubuntu (http://releases.ubuntu.com/kubuntu/) rather than adding KDE on top of GNOME Ubuntu.

compmodder26
May 19th, 2011, 02:41 PM
Hi, I am new to ubuntu and installeddd it on my laptop. Then I installed KDE to it and set it as default desk environ. It is running very fine!

Then I installed ubuntu 10.04 LTS on my home PC and again installed KDE on it after updating everything to today's date. I set it as default desk environ. But seems that it didn't get installed properly. After logging in, the splash screen of KDE appears. First the hard disk icon appears and then abruptly it switches to login screen again. This keeps repeating.

Can anybody help?

Did you install "kubuntu-desktop"?

1991sudarshan
May 19th, 2011, 05:44 PM
Please read this post and you can find the solution for your problem!
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-newbie-8/kubuntu-gui-login-screen-reappears-875303/

1991sudarshan
May 20th, 2011, 05:47 AM

Can anybody help?

Paste this command in the terminal and post the output of it!

cat /etc/kde4/kdm/kdmrc

mastablasta
May 20th, 2011, 08:33 AM