PDA

View Full Version : [PYTHON]What do I infer from % sign?

Ashish Gaurav
May 17th, 2011, 08:49 AM
Hi. I am a newbie to Python and CGI. As a newcomer I admire its simplicity. But as common, I am having a problem. What do we mean by % sign? I know its MODULUS but in some places it cannot be modulus!

See this:

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#!/usr/bin/python

# Import modules for CGI handling import cgi, cgitb
# Create instance of FieldStorage form = cgi.FieldStorage()
# Get data from fields
first_name = form.getvalue('first_name')
last_name = form.getvalue('last_name') print "Content-type:text/html\r\n\r\n"
print "<html>" print "<head>" print "<title>Hello - Second CGI Program</title>" print "</head>" print "<body>" print "<h2>Hello %s %s</h2>" % (first_name, last_name) print "</body>" print "</html>"
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here, why was %s %s written after Hello, and why, was first_name,last_name written afterward with % sign.
Can't seem to understand!

Actually this was in the CGI script.
Please help!(No office work, just my zeal!)
Thanks(I hope I have explained my query well)
:)

Tony Flury
May 17th, 2011, 09:00 AM
The %s is a string format code (rather like in sprintf in C)

http://docs.python.org/library/stdtypes.html#string-formatting

StephenF
May 17th, 2011, 11:39 AM
It has to do with a thing generally called operator overloading where a class can define what % does within the context of that class.

In Python % only does what it does because integer and float objects have % defined for them.

>>> int.__mod__
<slot wrapper '__mod__' of 'int' objects>

class A(object):
def __mod__(self, other):
print '''"It's just a flesh wound", said %s.''' % other

a = A()
a % "the black knight"

Prints: "It's just a flesh wound", said the black knight.

stchman
May 17th, 2011, 09:21 PM