PDA

View Full Version : [edubuntu] Edubuntu 10.04 and RHEL dual boot

sindhughanti
May 16th, 2011, 03:41 PM
Hi
I have a system with RHEL 5 installed on it.
I installed Edubuntu 10.04 LTSP side-by-side without installing the boot-loader.
Now I can detect Edubuntu thro RHEL, but have to make an entry for Edubuntu in the grub menu through RHEL. Kindly help me with this.
How do I do this? I need to know how i can find the kernel version number etc. Detailed help would be appreciated as i am new to this. Thanks :D

MAFoElffen
May 16th, 2011, 08:21 PM
Hi
I have a system with RHEL 5 installed on it.
I installed Edubuntu 10.04 LTSP side-by-side without installing the boot-loader.
Now I can detect Edubuntu thro RHEL, but have to make an entry for Edubuntu in the grub menu through RHEL. Kindly help me with this.
How do I do this? I need to know how i can find the kernel version number etc. Detailed help would be appreciated as i am new to this. Thanks :D
Problem you have at the moment is that you have 2 operating systems that boot off of 2 separate versions of GNU Grub (Grub2 and Legacy)... and only have one of those GNU Grub versions (Legacy) installed right?

Some older Operating system will load from Legacy Grub, but not from Grub2. Some newer system will load from Grub2, but not from the older Legacy Grub.

You can chainload from Legacy Grub to Grub2... and from Grub2 to Legacy-- But you HAVE to have both "Versions" loaded to do it.

Which ever version you keep as your primary/default "Boot Loader" and chainload from is your personal chioce... But easiest at the point you are at, at this moment in time... Since you are going to have to Load Grub2 anyway... would be to install Grub2 and let it do everytihng "for you."

Doing it from Legacy as your primary boot loader means you are gong to have to:
Install Grub2
Reinstall Legacy Grub (because the step before is going to overwrite the MBR)
Manually add the menu item with chainloader call to Legacy Grub to it's menu.lst.