PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu_studio] Disabled nVidia Drivers in "Additional Drivers" now X doesn't start

gwohl
May 15th, 2011, 08:42 PM
Hi guys!

I recently updated to 11.04, and in order to get Unity to work, I tried disabling my nVidia drivers in the "Additional Drivers" to see what results that would bring. Now X won't start, because it can't find the nvidia module. I'm new to Ubuntu and to GNOME/KDE environments, so I'm confused by what this function actually did. It didn't change my xorg.conf at all, it just seemed to delete it from my system!

Since I can't start X, I can't reopen that menu and re-enable the driver. I used apt-get to download the nvidia drivers again but no setup menu ever came up as I am used to when installing nvidia's drivers, so I'm not sure exactly what that particular apt-get package did. I'm afraid to stray out of the apt-get system out of fears related to past experiences with dependency issues and a broken system. But I'll do whatever I have to do to get X back up and running with the nvidia drivers!

Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

(Ubuntu Studio 11.04, X86-64, GeForce GTX 260)

MAFoElffen
May 15th, 2011, 09:02 PM
Hi guys!

I recently updated to 11.04, and in order to get Unity to work, I tried disabling my nVidia drivers in the "Additional Drivers" to see what results that would bring. Now X won't start, because it can't find the nvidia module. I'm new to Ubuntu and to GNOME/KDE environments, so I'm confused by what this function actually did. It didn't change my xorg.conf at all, it just seemed to delete it from my system!