PDA

View Full Version : College and Laptop

nonkreon
May 13th, 2011, 11:35 AM
Hi guys:)
I'm a high school student now and planning to study EEE next year. I have a nice desktop computer, 3 years old but still good, Phenom II 2.1 GHz 3-core, 4 GB ram, 500 gig hd, only a little upgrade on graphics processor may be necessary; 256 mb ram on that.
sorry this was not the point;
my question is, would having a laptop computer besides desktop help me in college? I will stay home which is only less than a mile from the faculty but don't receive the college network connection; my internet at home is crappy BTW 1 mbit and constant disconnections.
any reply would be appreciated:)

Grenage
May 13th, 2011, 11:44 AM
I think that laptops are very handy academically; I went through college without one, but it would have been nice. You'll have to personally weigh the pros and cons - for which the only real 'con' is usually the cost.

el_koraco
May 13th, 2011, 01:01 PM
If you can afford it, go for it.

3Miro
May 13th, 2011, 01:10 PM
I didn't get a Laptop until my last year in grad school. Desktops are cheaper, easier to upgrade/repair and better if you need a machine to run on full power for hours or days.

Laptops are a lot more convenient.

I would say it depends on the money. If you have the money for a good laptop (i.e. something form System76 or ZaReason), then go for it. Otherwise, stay with the desktop.

kavon89
May 13th, 2011, 01:12 PM
I would recommend a portable laptop/netbook if you can afford it, but you don't exactly need it as there are usually computer labs everywhere.

Wait until your first semester is over and then decide if you would like one. You can also snag a nice Christmas deal assuming you're starting in this fall.

tmette
May 13th, 2011, 02:12 PM
I would recommend a portable laptop/netbook if you can afford it, but you don't exactly need it as there are usually computer labs everywhere.