PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] What is the right distro for my purpose

ClientAlive
May 12th, 2011, 03:46 AM
Hi,

I've been thinking about migrating my o/s (Ubuntu 10.04) to a virtaul machine. I would be using Oracle Virtual Box to run it in.

My question is:

What is a very minimal linux distro that virtual box could be run on top of. In other words, to use as the host o/s.

More specifically. I don't need it to have a gui and would even like to strip out anything that is not absolutely necessary for it's own maintenance and running/ supporting virtual box. I'm not even sure I need much of a home directroy except maybe on folder in it to use as a shared folder between it and virtual box (not even sure that would be needed. It would need to be stable and reliable though - and, I think, virtual box seems to like debian based stuff? Anyway . . .

I've never done it before but I am willing to compile something myself. In fact, doing that even sounds like a kind of fun project.

Can anyone suggest what components the right components I would need to compile what I need to end up with? In the end what would I want to end up with? What would that picture look like?

Thanks

jeffathehutt
May 12th, 2011, 04:26 AM
Personally if I was going to attempt a project like that, I would start with a minimal install of debian stable and a simple window manager / desktop like openbox or lxde. That way, you start with a nice, stable base system that won't need constant updating. Also, a minimal install shouldn't use too much RAM, allowing you to dedicate more RAM to the virtual machine.

If you also want to compile things, it's usually pretty simple. Most programs use the standard

./configure
make
make install

./configure allows you to specify which options you want in the program, make will do the actual compiling, then make install will copy the files to their proper place in the system.

Allavona
May 12th, 2011, 07:56 AM
Would TinyCore work for that purpose?

Rubi1200