PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to launch a program onto another X screen?



skullmunky
May 11th, 2011, 03:54 PM
This is for a live performance type of setup. I have 2 graphics cards. One is attached to 2 projectors, which are what the audience sees. The other has a single monitor, which is backstage. The 'front' graphics card is configured in Twinview, and the 'backstage' one is configured as a second X screen by the nvidia settings control panel.

What I'd like to do is launch my show program from a terminal on my backstage screen, but have it show up on the other X screen, the 'front' one. X is amazing so I'm sure it can be done, but I'm having a hard time figuring out exactly how. Thanks for any hints ... :)

--

Wow, Personal Best for self-solving my own thread question:



DISPLAY=:0.0; xclock


launches on display 0



DISPLAY=:0.1; xclock


launches on display 1

Additional notes to self:

1. stereo:



Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro FX 1700"
BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
Option "Stereo" "4"
EndSection


2. disable composite for stereo to work:



Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Disable"
EndSection


--

whole xorg:



Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "Projectiondesign AS"
HorizSync 30.0 - 140.0
VertRefresh 48.0 - 110.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "DELL 1905FP"
HorizSync 0.0 - 0.0
VertRefresh 0.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro FX 1700"
BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
Option "Stereo" "4"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro FX 1700"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"

Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "1"
Option "metamodes" "DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, DFP-1: nvidia-au
to-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Device1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Disable"
EndSection

ManualSparrow
May 11th, 2011, 09:19 PM
It might be easier to just enable Xinerama, which lets you drag windows across screens.

Tweak42
May 11th, 2011, 11:24 PM
Was replying to your question but realize you were using (2) separate video cards, not 1 card with several monitors.

This solution might work, it's what I use to auto place/size/position program windows onto my second monitor at launch; it saves having to drag them over manually and resize.

http://ubuntu-tutorials.com/2007/07/25/how-to-set-default-workspace-size-and-window-effects-in-gnome/

skullmunky
May 14th, 2011, 05:47 AM
Ooh, devilspie looks good. Thanks.

I thought about Xinerama but the thing is I'm using the two heads on one of the graphics cards in a twinview cloned-mode stereo configuration, so I don't know if that'll play nicely with xinerama. if it does, that'd be cool, though.