PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 11.04 buggy?

Phaze08
May 11th, 2011, 03:04 PM
So it seems to me like upgrading to the newest 11.04 distro of ubuntu would be a great thing to do, but Ive seen quite a few threads about bugs, problems, etc. Is this common? Im new to linux so Im not really sure how things usually work. Does it differ from system to system?

StaticPhilly
May 11th, 2011, 03:08 PM
iv just switched from arch linux over to ubuntu (yea a big diffrence) but, ubuntu bug wise seems very good up to now, drivers seem to be fine and no major software bugs that iv noticed, at least not in your standard desktop packages

Phaze08
May 11th, 2011, 04:09 PM
In that case I may upgrade as long as its stable.

coffeecat
May 11th, 2011, 04:42 PM
Does it differ from system to system?

Yes, it does. If you want to run Unity, which is a compiz plugin, it needs a 3d capable videocard/driver combination. You might want to download the 11.04 ISO and make a live CD and test your system with the live session before you commit yourself to an upgrade.

ThatCoolGuy220
May 11th, 2011, 05:13 PM
You can change to Clasic Desktop

When Login....

Also there are some tips to get better perfomance like to:

Unmark the Detect Refreshing option

Or

To unmark the Vblank.... stuff

I dont remember very well if you want to do them tell me i could look out for the link where i found them

Other stuff you could try is to install A 2D Desktop

sudo apt-get install unity-2d

If you want more info About tweaks on Ubuntu 11.04 visit this usefull Post:

Linky (http://www.webupd8.org/2011/04/things-to-tweak-fix-after-installing.html)

ThatCoolGuy220
May 11th, 2011, 05:19 PM
Oh you can also try this

LinkyLinky (http://www.stumbleupon.com/su/1flxK2/www.jondev.net/articles/Ubuntu_11.04_choppy_or_slow)

this is what i tried it gave me a bit more perfomance

And if any of the above satisfied you, you can always get:
(10.10) or (10.04.2 LTS)

Enjoy ubuntu!

thomasrepetti
May 12th, 2011, 12:10 PM