PDA

View Full Version : Gtk+ c++ for beginners

Jagoly
May 10th, 2011, 08:46 AM
Hello. A while ago I started learning c++, but I got slack. Now I'm getting back into it, and I'd like to start making some graphical applications. So I have a few queries:

If I were to learn gtk, It would be used for "normal" applications, right?
If wanted to use fancy graphics, eg a game, I would have to separately learn something like sfml, allegro, opengl, ect.
Does anyone here know any good books/guids for gtk?

Thanks!

PaulM1985
May 10th, 2011, 11:30 AM
I have done a little work with GTK in the past. However I was using gtkmm which is the C++ binding for GTK. I just picked it up from the website:
http://www.gtkmm.org/en/
There is a documentation section with examples and links to the API.

There seem to be a few applications "normal" applications that use GTK. See here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GTK%2B#Applications

For the "fancy graphics" side of things I would look into opengl. I have used that a little in the past and it is something I am about to start looking into again. There are plenty of tutorials for it. I found this to be the best:
http://www.videotutorialsrock.com/

If you are looking to use opengl and GTK you will have to bind them together somehow. I don't know how this is done but I am sure you will find stuff through google.

Paul

Jagoly
May 10th, 2011, 01:49 PM
Whoa, thanks! Do you know where I might be able to grab a PDF of that? With google I can only find pdf's for gtkmm 2.4. When of programming, 90% of the time I don't have an Internet connection.

Had a bit of a look through it, and it wasn't as scary as I thought it would be. This is going to be fun!

nvteighen
May 10th, 2011, 04:19 PM
Whoa, thanks! Do you know where I might be able to grab a PDF of that? With google I can only find pdf's for gtkmm 2.4. When of programming, 90% of the time I don't have an Internet connection.