PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] how to instal 11.04 on external ONLY

blitzkriegg9x
May 10th, 2011, 12:40 AM
i would like to instal Ubuntu 11.04 on my external hard drive only. and leave my internal alone. i would still like to be able to boot up in 11.04 and win 7 (whatever i choose)

but im rather new to this and don't know how and don't want to mess something up. I have tried to use Ubuntu in the past but i just couldn't get the hang of it and messed a lot of things up and just gave up, but i want to try again.

im a noob so try and explain things. thank you!

my specs:

http://i55.tinypic.com/1zqbgxz.png

oldfred
May 10th, 2011, 01:24 AM
I prefer to partition in advance and use manual install. In fact to be able to install grub2's boot loader to the MBR of the external you have to use manual install. Then set BIOS to boot external first. If not found then it will boot the internal drive.

Installing Ubuntu in Hard Disk Two (or more) internal or external
http://members.iinet.net.au/~herman546/p24.html

With nVidia you may have video issues. It just needs nomodeset on liveCD and first boot. 11.04 was better than older versions so it may work without the nomodeset.

Natty Video issues. MAFoElffen
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1743535

How to set NOMODESET and other kernel boot options in grub2
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1613132

blitzkriegg9x
May 10th, 2011, 01:45 AM
can you recommend a good way to partition my external hard drive? and do i need to do anything "special" while doing so?

oldfred
May 10th, 2011, 01:54 AM
Basics of partitions:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowtoPartition

GParted partitioning software - Full tutorial
http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/gparted.html

How big is drive. Are you sharing data with windows? If so I like a shared NTFS partition for any data you may want to share. Are you thinking about other installs, or even another copy of Ubuntu?

For the Total space you want for Ubuntu: