PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual Drive, Dual Boot setup: best way?

MikeNovember
May 9th, 2011, 01:15 AM
Hello all!

I've been tinkering with Ubuntu on and off for several years, but a very light user at best. Primarily, I use OSX 10.6, but now I'm building a backup workstation/NAS/Server. The requirement for it to be a functional workstation has me here in Ubuntu and not FreeNAS, along with other limitations of FreeNAS I don't care to mess with. Anyway:

Currently, I have 11.04 running stable on the hardware in my sig line. What I would like to do is add another IDE Hard Drive, with Windows XP on it, and be able to pick between the two in GRUB2 (Which I noticed isn't displaying: is this because I only have one drive right now, and it's Ubuntu?)

What's the best way to accomplish this?

MAFoElffen
May 9th, 2011, 01:51 AM
Hello all!

I've been tinkering with Ubuntu on and off for several years, but a very light user at best. Primarily, I use OSX 10.6, but now I'm building a backup workstation/NAS/Server. The requirement for it to be a functional workstation has me here in Ubuntu and not FreeNAS, along with other limitations of FreeNAS I don't care to mess with. Anyway:

Currently, I have 11.04 running stable on the hardware in my sig line. What I would like to do is add another IDE Hard Drive, with Windows XP on it, and be able to pick between the two in GRUB2 (Which I noticed isn't displaying: is this because I only have one drive right now, and it's Ubuntu?)

What's the best way to accomplish this?
Yes, Grub is not diplaying now because Ubuntu is the sole OS.

Best? You'll have debates on that... But one way would be to first, disconnect your Ubuntu drive, connect your new drive. Boot from a GParted LiveCD and create your Windows partition on your new drive, starting it on the second sector, not the first. This will allow Grub updates down the road from bothering this partition.

Install Windows XP. Get all current updates.