PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No Unity desktop after login screen

Siegemos
May 6th, 2011, 09:38 AM
Hi all,

First off apologies if this issues has already been raised, I found some similar issues using the search but none of them have helped.

I have recently downloaded and installed Ubuntu 11.04 desktop. I'd like to be able to dual boot into Windows or Linux on my PC so I've installed in on an ext4 partition on a separate drive from Windows.

The installation process ran smoothly and the dual boot functionality works as planned. The problem I'm having is that after logging in, the login window disappears (as does the options bar at the bottom of the screen), and then nothing else appears, just the mouse cursor (sometimes the loading icon, sometimes not) and an empty background image, no icons, no menus. It doesn't matter how long I leave it for, nothing ever happens from this point on.

I am technical, however, unfortunately ,I'm very new to Linux (something I'd like to remedy) so I'm a bit stuck with what to try next. Any pointers would be appreciated.

Thanks.

An Sanct
May 6th, 2011, 09:51 AM
The Unity tab is located to the left of your screen, maybe its hidden or something.

If you want, you can also choose the classic desktop in the login screen (in the bottom).

Try classic first, update to the latest update and then try Unity again.

Siegemos
May 6th, 2011, 12:11 PM
Hi, thanks for the reply.

Ubuntu classic doesn't seem to work either unfortunately. The process is this:

I type my login details, everything disappears, the Ubuntu intro sound plays, cursor turns to loading, then nothing else happens.

Ubuntu (Safe mode) does work however, I get straight in. I'm guessing that safe mode loads the OS without some drivers so I guess now my question becomes: How do I find out what the problem with the 'non safe-modes' is?

Thanks.

An Sanct
May 6th, 2011, 01:53 PM
My bet would be, go to the "rescue console" and run

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade