PDA

View Full Version : Game Developer

acklavidian
May 6th, 2011, 03:27 AM
In short this is a shout out to any Game developers in need of assistance. I am a senior student of the University of Southern Mississippi studying computer science, and I really want to get involved in game development. I do a lot 3D modeling with blender on my own time and previously was a Graphic Design major so I have some formal experience there too. I just got a job at my university to help build content for a webgl game. It is of my highest aspiration to become a game developer, and I know it probably won't happen. However, I can't just give up, and so I am looking to get as much experience as I can. My summer break is almost here and I want to use my skills so as to not get rusty. I would like to get involved in a project that is story oriented, as I have not seen something like this so far on Ubuntu.That being said I would prefer that this be developed mainly on Ubuntu, but I am not going to overlook any offer that seems to have good direction. So in the end the game I like the most will bear the heaviest influence on my decision. Actually, I would feel lucky to get any offers! I am not asking to get paid either...of course...

My Skills
-3D Modeling...(Animation,Sculpting,Texturing,...)
-2D Graphics...(Physical Media, and Digital Media)
-Music...(I have played in a band for many years, and have
dabbled in computer assisted music creation.)
-Concept Creation...(I have been doing this since I could hold a
pencil)
-C++ (probably almost everything)
-Java (not new to it, but not as strong as c++)
-Others(I am not afraid to learn any programming language, and I
have used plenty)

My Caveats
-I have little experience with game development other than what I have with webgl, and some Oblivion modding. Though I feel my knowledge with coding will easily over come that.