PDA

View Full Version : Your feelings on software licensing?

spockofborg
May 5th, 2011, 11:48 PM
I'm a student in college and for english we have to make a zine. The subject of my zine is Open Source Software, where I will be highlighting the differences between Open and Closed source, as well as Free vs. Commercial licensing, and will also include tips and resources to guide new users on the path to libre software. What I need from all you wonderful people is help with the interview part of the zine.

What's unique about this school is that we happen to have the WORLDS largest collection of zines.. so your answers will live on long after this semester and even long after these forums are archived; they could possibly be looked at by historians many hundreds of years from now.

I have come up with 9 questions on the subject of software licensing. PLEASE feel free to include comments outside of these questions.

Thanks in advance,
-Kent

1. what is your involvement with software; i.e. - are you a an enduser, support professional, programmer, etc.

2. What do you feel are the most important aspects of Free Open Source Software.

3. If Microsoft gave Windows away for free, would you use it?

4. If Windows was open source, that is, there were many flavors produced by many groups, like there are many distributions of Linux, would you use it?

5. If Linux was wholly owned by Microsoft (or another big, possibly evil corporation) , instead of the kernel being Linus' and the rest being GNU, would you still use it?

6. Do you think more people would buy an iPod/iPhone/iPad/MacBook/iMac if Apple removed every last proprietary part of those products and let the end user have actual complete control over thier own property?

7. Do you think OS X or iOS would be better off released under GPL instead of being proprietary?

8. Do you think the Android OS would have been better off released under GPLv2 instead of the ASLv2 (Apache Software License)?