PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Upgraded and then downgraded

TobsterUK
May 4th, 2011, 03:58 PM
Hi,

I'm new to the forums, and i suppose you could say that i am relatively new to Ubuntu. I have used various linux distro's before and settled on Ubuntu 10.10 a few months ago. I gotta say that it is the first linux ditro that i have used and managed to get everything working that i need to with a minimum of fuss and well as it working on my Dell D420 perfectly.

I turned the machine on yesterday and it offered me the upgrade to 11.04. I had been watching the development of this and it looked good so i upgraded. The upgrade, i have to say was flawless, no errors at all. It did remove some stuff and change some stuff but it was all good. it only took 2 1/2 hours too.... brill......

I started to use 11.04 and at first noted that it was a lot slower than that of 10.10, i looked past that and thought lets give it a go.
I must say that i did not like the new bar along the left hand side of the screen, although i guess i could get used to it, but i am really fussy on my desktop, i have to have it clear, i hate anything on it....strange i know, but thats how i like it.
I liked the new menu on the taskbar which changed for the different windows that were open and active, but then all of a sudden i lost the task bar and could only see the desktop wallpaper. Everything was running as certain shortcuts would open windows but i could not move them at all.

I was able to log in using classic but could not rectify the fault so i reluctantly had to reinstall back to 10.10. I must say that i am happy again with 10.10 and have no plans to upgrade again, certainly for a good few months.

I have to ask though, as a relatively new comer to linux, the hardest thing for people is for them to decide on a distro to use as there are way too many to choose from, why have ubuntu had to go ahead and change it all? making even more of a choice...