PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 11.04 + Raid 5 Installation Help

skyrider55
May 4th, 2011, 03:59 AM
Hey everyone,

I've been trying for about 11 hours to install ubuntu 11.04 in a raid 5 configuration, and this is embarrassing because I'm a computer engineer and getting infuriated.

All I want, is to install linux in a raid 5 configuration on 3 2TB western digital drives using the GUI interface in 11.04.

I'm using the 11.04 additional desktop installation iso.

If someone could post what the Partitions should look like on the 3 drives so that I can get past the error of it being unable to install grub boot manager and critical erroring, I'd be very grateful. Right now, I've essentially tried:

md0_raid5
- 512 MB's unusable
- 4TB Free Space

Drive 0
- boot (1MB)
- swap (8GB)
- raid (2TB)
Drive 1
- swap (8GB)
- raid (2TB)
Drive 2
- swap (8GB)
- raid (2TB)

so this is essentially what it looks like from memory, and grub bootloader can't install and the install process fails.

I'm so lost, and I'm doing 11 hours of work not to install windows onto this HTPC.

klavmanian
May 10th, 2011, 09:01 PM
I tried this same setup yesterday with 4 drives. This was done from the Ubuntu 11.04 alternate installer (64 bit). Each attempt was in a raid 5 and then raid 10 configuration. No luck. During GRUB installation, I got the error; "cannot install grub to /dev/mapper".

Here is a similar situation with Ubuntu 10.10
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1710394

I'll have to try the /boot on a RAID 1 tonight but I thought booting from RAID 5 and LVM was possible with grub2.

Any thoughts / solutions on this topic are greatly appreciated.

Quackers
May 10th, 2011, 09:07 PM
Something that worked with raid0 and 11.04 was booting to the live desktop and then installing kpartx. The install then worked (after choosing the /dev/mapper "drive" for the grub installation - if you don't it will default to /dev/sda).
I don't know if that will help in your circumstances.

klavmanian