PDA

View Full Version : Why Free

jethro10
May 12th, 2006, 03:15 PM
I've been using Ubuntu for a few months now and I understand that a lot of techie guys write and enhance linux/Gnome/KDE and more for free,

but why does someone setup a company like Canonical to refine the products and give it away for free. Its beyond me.

Dont get me wrong, its briliant, but I don't get it really.
I mean eg. SUSE and RedHat both had an endgame in sight of becoming commerical.

Anyone know why?

Jeff

Omnios
May 12th, 2006, 03:24 PM
Well thinking about it some people have so much money that they are willing to create a great product and or service for free. They get the satisaction of creating something. Then there is the people who achieve personal greatness by creating something and reward is not in dollars but in self satisfaction. Not shure what drives people to do things for free but then again look at a monk, humble selibet and poor.

Guess you have to think outside the wallet to understand what drives people.

Another weay of looking at is is bill and Linus, Hi I have a big wallet or Hi I made this, Now who is your hero.

earobinson
May 12th, 2006, 03:39 PM
One of the goals of Canonical is to provide support (pay for) for companies using ubuntu, It also insures that ubuntu will have funding regardless of what happens to mark.

Kvark
May 12th, 2006, 04:19 PM
Canonical gives it away for free so a lot of people start using it, then it gets widespread and hyped. But when companies start using it they face a problem. You do not want to come posting for help from random users on an online forum when your bussiness is down due to software problems. Just imagine someone comming here and saying "Hey we here at <big newspaper> must have X million newspapers out in the morning but our central Ubuntu servers are acting up, please help fast!!!". Anyone using Ubuntu in their bussiness will want to pay Canonical for official support.

mostwanted
May 12th, 2006, 04:24 PM