PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Canceled 11.4 Upgrade and now I can't boot

scuba617
May 2nd, 2011, 11:43 PM
I was in the middle of upgrading to 11.4 (in the update packages step) and I had to shutdown to move my computer. I cancelled the upgrade process and it completed reverting back to it's previous state and then shutdown.

I just tried booting it back up to complete the update but now it won't boot. It is unable to mount my file system. I am currently running from a 10.10 live CD and I still cannot access my file system. Is there any way for me to either get back to 10.10 and keep all my files or upgrade to 11.4 and keep all my files or should I just reformat the partition and install a clean version of 11.4 from a CD? I'm still relatively new to Linux so if there's any information that I should provide to help find a solution, provide just let me know.

alexend
May 2nd, 2011, 11:45 PM
If You Reinstall, It Will Keep Your Files And Settings and Apps! Just Select Upgrade on 11.04 Boot Cd or USB.

scuba617
May 3rd, 2011, 02:42 AM
I've started the upgrade using the live CD. part way through the package update step it gave me a notification that it was unable to mount one of my partitions (the same one from before). Hopefully I am able to boot from my HD after this update is done. I will reply again with the outcome of this.

scuba617
May 3rd, 2011, 04:01 AM
Well, the install froze, exploring other options at the moment. Let me know if anyone has any input as to what may be causing the issue with not being able to mount my file system.

Hedgehog1
May 3rd, 2011, 04:32 AM
We need to get a look at your partitions.

Please boot off the LiveCD/LiveUSB, select 'TRY', and then:

http://bootinfoscript.sourceforge.net/
Follow the instruction on the website and post the results here.

Please press the '#' button when posting and place the the script results between the two 'CODE' tags.

The Hedge

:KS

scuba617
May 3rd, 2011, 06:58 AM