PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No Windows partition while installing

Xythus
May 2nd, 2011, 12:23 PM
Hello, (I can't think of a better introduction, how lame.)
I've been using Ubuntu since 2009, but recently I had to reinstall Windows (and Ubuntu.)
The problem is that ever since I reinstalled Windows the Ubuntu installation doesn't recognize the Windows partition. I've got a 500GB HDD, and the installation says there's 500GB of free space.

Is there any way to make Ubuntu recognize the Windows partition while installing, or is the only solution reinstalling Windows?

Thank you for your time,
Django

srs5694
May 2nd, 2011, 07:32 PM
Your partition table is probably damaged. See this page (http://www.rodsbooks.com/missing-parts/index.html) for general information and several possible solutions. The simplest solution is probably to use FixParts (http://www.rodsbooks.com/fixparts/) on the disk. If you want a more precise diagnosis, launch the Ubuntu installer into "live CD" mode, open a Terminal window, and type "sudo fdisk -lu". Post the results here, between
and tags. That will tell me (and others knowledgeable about such things) what the precise problem is and what sorts of corrective measures are easiest.

Xythus
May 3rd, 2011, 12:10 PM
WARNING: GPT (GUID Partition Table) detected on '/dev/sda'! The util fdisk doesn't support GPT. Use GNU Parted.

Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders, total 976773168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x88f11eea

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 2048 206847 102400 7 HPFS/NTFS
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda2 * 206848 767055871 383424512 7 HPFS/NTFS

That's the message I get, and when I try to use "parted /dev/sda print" this message shows up: