PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Atheros AR2413 works weirdly since Natty



Lineplus
April 30th, 2011, 12:17 PM
Hello,
When I start my computer, no wireless network is detected, even if I wait a long time. I have to transport my computer in another room, next to my modem: the wireless network is detected, as well as those of the neighborhood, and I can move my computer anywhere, the wireless connection stays and works normally. But the problem backs each time I reboot my computer, or each time I uncheck and recheck “Enable wireless network”. Same problem with Network Manager and Connman.


$ sudo lshw -C Network
*-network
description: Wireless interface
product: AR2413 802.11bg NIC
vendor: Atheros Communications Inc.
physical id: 5
bus info: pci@0000:04:05.0
logical name: wlan0
version: 01
serial: 00:19:7d:44:f5:ce
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=ath5k driverversion=2.6.38-8-generic firmware=N/A ip=192.168.0.11 latency=168 link=yes maxlatency=28 mingnt=10 multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11bg
resources: irq:18 memory:c3000000-c300ffffEverything was working with Maverick.

truck87bp
April 30th, 2011, 02:14 PM
I currently have EEEbuntu 3.0 on my Asus 1000HE and the Atheros wireless hooks up at 300mps. Testing Unity, I only get 150mps wireless. This needs to be looked into. Note: I loaded Live with a wired hookup. Wired hook up was 100mps.

Also, Unity relies on Compiz for the full experience but does not load from the live CD. Maybe the Live CD should not have any Office installed to save space to allow having Compiz installed. As for the Office problem, create an Icon in the list to point to the software center.

How can you test a machine using the Live CD without the full Compiz experience if its part of the feature of Unity?

Work Spaces are handled much better in Unity than in Fedora 15 Gnome 3 but should always appear at the top of the Unity Bar.:popcorn:

Lineplus
April 30th, 2011, 02:23 PM
I don't use Unity. The problem seems to be closer to the kernel than to my desktop environment.

PriceChild
May 1st, 2011, 06:53 PM
Hmm I'm also having similar problems with my AR2413. Rebooting into my old (maverick) kernel resolves them. Not sure what to do.

el_koraco
May 1st, 2011, 09:09 PM
It's a kernel issue with ath9, and AFAIK it is being worked on.
First check that you have ath9 with
lspci -k


For the rest, I'm gonna repeat myself - this is for Kubuntu, though. Check out the blog post.

http://www.jlacroix.me/?p=1999

"Even with Kubuntu being as great as it is, I have a few complaints. The first is the wireless speed. With my Atheros card, it’s so slow it can take up to five minutes for a page to load, if it loads at all. However, this is not a Kubuntu problem, it’s a bug with the 2.6.38 Linux kernel and has already been reported, and is being worked on. It’s easily fixed by adding “options ath9k nohwcrypt=1″ to the /etc/modprobe.d/ath9k.conf file (that file didn’t already exist on my system, so I had to create it) and then after a reboot, it was fine. I found that solution here (in post #3). I’m not sure what all that effects, but it does make things work. Since this bug isn’t Kubuntu’s fault, I won’t hold it against the score, but it was worth mentioning."

There is also another thread going on - http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1742274&highlight=atheros+AR928x

You guys need to check for open bugs and start pestering the devs. i have no idea how I was able to escape such issues, seeing as I also use the ath9 driver.

audionut
May 2nd, 2011, 04:21 PM
I'm having exactly the same symptoms as Lineplus in post #1. Note, I have ath5, not ath9. It IS the AR2413 chip as well....

NOT having speed problems, just cannot connect unless my laptop is NEXT to the wireless router... once the signal fades down a couple of bars (like going upstairs or some distance from the router), if I reboot, will not connect at all.. or I see the icon "trying" to handshake, but never connects at all...

Any suggestions on how to get back the version 10.10 performance we had before the upgrade would be great. Have tried all the solutions I can find when googling this problem...

Thanks!!:confused:

bl4ckf0xi
May 3rd, 2011, 03:31 AM
Hi!

You should follow this instructions and use madwifi driver (for ath5k natty 11.04):


sudo su
apt-get install subversion
cd /usr/src
svn checkout http://madwifi-project.org/svn/madwifi/trunk madwifi
tar cfvz madwifi.tgz
cd madwifi
make && make install

echo "blacklist ath5k" >> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
echo "ath_pci" >> /etc/modules

modprobe ath_pci

sudo reboot

From http://fossplanet.com/f10/%5Bbug-775104%5D-%5Bnew%5D-kernel-2-6-38-8-ath5k-driver-wireless-signalstrength-critically-weak-148704/

I hope this'll help.

audionut
May 3rd, 2011, 03:49 AM
Wow..that seemed to do the trick, bl4ck foxi...

Really appreciate the help!!

Thanks again!):P

rayne127
May 19th, 2011, 10:40 AM
Hi!

You should follow this instructions and use madwifi driver (for ath5k natty 11.04):


sudo su
apt-get install subversion
cd /usr/src
svn checkout http://madwifi-project.org/svn/madwifi/trunk madwifi
tar cfvz madwifi.tgz
cd madwifi
make && make install

echo "blacklist ath5k" >> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
echo "ath_pci" >> /etc/modules

modprobe ath_pci

sudo reboot

From http://fossplanet.com/f10/%5Bbug-775104%5D-%5Bnew%5D-kernel-2-6-38-8-ath5k-driver-wireless-signalstrength-critically-weak-148704/

I hope this'll help.

This worked perfectly for me!

Except that after my first reboot when I attempted to connect to my network Ubuntu froze and went to a black screen with a ton of crazy writing on it. But I shut down and restarted and now it's working just fine!

Thank you!

arkaitzswagman
May 31st, 2011, 11:53 AM
Thanks a lot for this workaround, worked like a charm for me (on a aspire 3610) !:D

pakennedy
June 17th, 2011, 10:30 PM
Ta, fixed my issue too.

PriceChild
July 22nd, 2011, 06:45 PM
Seth Forshee has informed me by email that the 'proper' fix for this (not requiring ath_pci) has landed in the -proposed repositories!

aleoo
August 16th, 2011, 12:08 AM
Hi!

You should follow this instructions and use madwifi driver (for ath5k natty 11.04):


sudo su
apt-get install subversion
cd /usr/src
svn checkout http://madwifi-project.org/svn/madwifi/trunk madwifi
tar cfvz madwifi.tgz
cd madwifi
make && make install

echo "blacklist ath5k" >> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
echo "ath_pci" >> /etc/modules

modprobe ath_pci

sudo reboot

From http://fossplanet.com/f10/%5Bbug-775104%5D-%5Bnew%5D-kernel-2-6-38-8-ath5k-driver-wireless-signalstrength-critically-weak-148704/

I hope this'll help.



apart from this code
tar cfvz madwifi.tgz

I did all the rest.
One week ago, my problem was the same
as the other users in this discussion described.
Now I can't detect any wireless network and, when I found your post,
I followed your instructions.
Nothing changed. NM always shows Wireless network disconnected .
I've read that someone changed channel in the router configuration and solved it.
It doesn't work for me..I just tried three different channels,
I wonder if I have to try them all or it's useless..
I hope to find some help here.
I have an Acer Aspire 3680.

aleoo
August 16th, 2011, 01:41 PM
I don't have ndiswrapper installed, is that a problem?
Weeks ago wifi was working (even if weirdly) anyway without it.

aleoo
September 13th, 2011, 05:24 PM
Can anyone help me please?

aleoo
October 30th, 2011, 07:17 PM
Same problem with 11.10