PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't boot up "frequency out of range" message appears on the screen

bvil
April 29th, 2011, 06:23 PM
I upgraded 10.10 to 11.04 last night, and after it restarted, the message,"frequency out of range," popped up and can't even log in. Any suggestions?

ghormax
April 29th, 2011, 09:12 PM
My computer boots well (I have a clean install of 11.04) but during the boot and shutdown, the frequency is also out of range. What could be the problem?

sikander3786
April 29th, 2011, 09:24 PM
What is the native resolution of your monitor?

bvil
April 29th, 2011, 10:46 PM
mine is 1440x900

dmgroom
April 30th, 2011, 12:07 AM
Sorry as I'm not very technical, but I had the same problems this moring and solved it as follows:

At the point where you would be expecting to see a GRUB menu hit the "down arrow" key, followed by "enter/return" key. This should get you in to the recovery mode option of the grub menu.

From the next menu choose "run in failsafe graphics mode".

If you have not already installed the start up manager then install it from synaptic package manager (search for "startupmanager").

Then choose System > Administration > StartUp-Manager

Under both "boot options" and "advanced" tabs choose a resolution and colour depth that your monitor supports. save these settings and rebbot.

bvil
April 30th, 2011, 12:59 AM
I just tried it a couple of times and couldn't even get to GRUB menu. The first time it went to memory test and the other times it seemed like loading something as it was shown on the screen but it kinda froze right after.

Fervid
April 30th, 2011, 04:43 AM
You can either wait until you think GRUB has loaded and press down once, then enter and you will probably get to recovery. If not, boot from the live CD and edit:

/etc/default/grub
uncomment the line:

#GRUB_TERMINAL=consoleSave the file then run

sudo update-grubOnce it is complete you can reboot and you should be able to see your grub menu.

RJARRRPCGP