PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Error when trying to run Photoshop CS5

dctrsatan
April 28th, 2011, 11:11 PM
I am running Ubuntu 10.10 and get the following error after installing Photoshop CS5 Extended.

I uploaded a video of my problem. I have the latest version of Wine installed if that makes a difference.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bYtvUCIohBU

Flash858
April 28th, 2011, 11:29 PM
CS5 is not going to run under Wine. No possible way. Ever. Period.

It barely runs under Windows ;)

Your best bet is to install Virtual Box, Set up a Windows VM, and install CS5 there.

I assume you are a relatively new user, so I would encourage you to instead try Gimp to edit photos. I am a professional photographer, and frankly, I do all of my editing there, and only use CS5 for Dreamweaver anymore, as I have gotten so familiar with Gimp that Photoshop is no longer intuitive.

You can install Gimp in the Software Center, or by typing "sudo apt-get install gimp" (without the quotes) in a terminal.

If you have an older version of Photoshop, you could try Codeweavers.com - they have an interface for WINE called Crossover Linux, and I noticed PS7 and CS2 were running fairly well. If you go that route, save early and often. I installed PS7 once to try it, and it ran, but often crashed.

dctrsatan
April 29th, 2011, 12:16 AM
How do you explain this video then?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ZnCcJuQLwY

That video is the one that i was following. Please watch it and get back to me.

Tomdarkness
April 29th, 2011, 01:29 AM
http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=20158

It has a Gold rating in WineDB so not sure how you can claim that there is "No possible way."

To the OP: If you check on the howto on the WineDB is suggests that the best way to run PS CS5 in wine is to copy over a installation from Windows as described.

CS5 is not going to run under Wine. No possible way. Ever. Period.

It barely runs under Windows ;)