PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 32 or 64 bit Ubuntu 11.04, which one?

cybrsaylr
April 28th, 2011, 08:43 PM
Should I select 32 or 64 bit version of 11.04?

I've been using 64 bit Karmic and Maverick but I see Ubuntu recommends the 32 bit version of 11.04. How come they recommend 32 and not 64 bit? Which one is best?

3Miro
April 28th, 2011, 09:02 PM
Should I select 32 or 64 bit version of 11.04?

I've been using 64 bit Karmic and Maverick but I see Ubuntu recommends the 32 bit version of 11.04. How come they recommend 32 and not 64 bit? Which one is best?

Some proprietary drivers have 32-bit versions only and historically 64-bit flash has been a bit iffy (although lately it has been working just fine). My rule is, if you have at least 2GB of RAM and you don't run into any issues with drivers and flash, then use 64-bit. Otherwise, go for 32-bit.

cybrsaylr
April 28th, 2011, 09:18 PM
I've been running 64 bit Karmic since Nov 2009 with no problems. Same with 64 bit Maverick which I've been running since its later release. I have plenty of RAM.

I'm also running 32 bit Maverick on an older P4 that can't handle 64 bit. 64 bit versions seem to run better for me but then again they are installed on newer PCs.

Thanks for the input 3Miro.

Other input is also welcome.

THE CARTER
April 28th, 2011, 09:36 PM
If you've been running 64-bit in the past, your computer should be able to run 64-bit. How much RAM do you have?

yeti2011
April 28th, 2011, 09:41 PM
Your question is my same question.

I've been using 10.10 Ubuntu 64bit version on Acer Aspire 8930G Intel Core Duo with 4 GB ram and I only experienced some problems when linking LibreOffice Base 3.3.2 to postgresql 8.4 database via odbc drivers.

You may also refer to the article as in the following link: http://www.muktware.com/man/1047.